Honda Award Winner Allison Schmitt To Be Honored At Halftime of Georgia Football Game

Honda Award Winner Allison Schmitt To Be Honored At Halftime of Georgia Football Game

THE CWSA's 2013 Honda Sports Award winner for swimming & diving, Allison Schmitt (Canton, MI) of the University of Georgia, will be formally presented with the honor live at halftime of the Georgia football game on Saturday, Sept. 28, at 3:30 pm, as announced by THE Collegiate Women Sports Awards presented by Honda. A representative of Honda, Erik Wedin, will be in attendance for the on-field presentation.

Schmitt was in the running to be named “the best of the best in collegiate athletics” as each of the 12 sport winners vied for the coveted Honda Cup. The Honda sport award signifies the best in any sport and the on-campus presentation gives the CWSA the opportunity to recognize Schmitt in front of her own fans and teammates.

Schmitt graduated as one of the most decorated swimmers at Georgia after leading her team to a record-breaking NCAA 400-yard freestyle relay victory and was a member of Georgia’s championship relay team including Shannon Vreeland, Chantal Van Landeghem and Megan Romano that broke the NCAA and U.S. Open records in the 400-yard freestyle at the NCAA Championship. She is also a six-time Olympic medalist.

The CWSA presents the Honda Sports Award annually to top women student-athletes in 12 NCAA-sanctioned sports. The 2013-14 awards seasons open this fall with winners being selected from the sports of cross country, field hockey, soccer and volleyball. All Honda Sports award winners become a finalist for the prestigous 2014 Honda Cup award presented in June.

THE Collegiate Women Sports Awards has honored the nation’s top NCAA women athletes for 37 years, recognizing superior athletic skills, leadership, academic excellence and eagerness to participate in community service. Since commencing its sponsorship in 1986, Honda has provided more than $2.7 million in institutional grants to the universities of the award winners and nominees to support women’s athletics programs at the institutions. Previous Honda Cup winners from the sport of swimming & diving were Jill Sterkel ('81), Tracy Caulkins ('82, '84), Mary T. Meagher ('87), Christina Teuscher ('00) and Tara Kirk ('04) .