Nominees Announced for 2014 Honda Field Hockey Sport Award

MarieElena Bolles of the University of Connecticut, Rachael Mack from the University of Michigan, Jill Witmer of the University of Maryland and Emily Wold from the University of North Carolina are the four nominees for the Honda Sports Award for Field Hockey as announced by Chris Voelz, Executive Director of THE Collegiate Women Sports Awards (CWSA) today.

The Honda Sports Award is presented annually by the CWSA to the top women athletes in 12 NCAA- sanctioned sports and signifies “the best of the best in collegiate athletics”. The winner of the sport award becomes a finalist for the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year and the prestigious 2014 Honda Cup. The nominees were chosen by a panel of coaches representing the National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA).

The Honda Sports award winner for field hockey will be announced next week after voting by administrators from over 1,000 NCAA member schools. Each NCAA member institution has a vote.

Bolles was recently named the 2013 NFHCA Player of the Year after leading UConn to the national championship title. The forward from Phoenixville, Pa., totaled 25 goals and added 17 assists for 48 points on the season. She was a two-time All-American and four-time first-team All-Big East selection and named the 2013 Mideast Region Player of the Year.

A native of Bromsgrove, England, Mack was a four-time All-American at Michigan and named the 2013 NFHCA West Region Player of the Year along with the 2013 Big Ten Player of the Year. The forward tallied 21 goals, including seven game-winners, and six assists for 48 points. Her 73 career goals and 166 career points marked new program records.

Witmer helped Maryland to its sixth straight Final Four after scoring 19 goals and nine assists for 47 points on the season. The forward from Lancaster, Pa., is a four-time All-American and was named the 2013 ACC Offensive Player of the Year, ACC Tournament MVP and NFHCA Mid-Atlantic Region Player of the Year.

Wold, a sophomore midfielder from Freehold, N.J., is a two-time All-American and was named the 2013 NFHCA South Region Player of the Year. She led the nation in assists with 23 tying the seventh-best single-season mark in school history. She is a two-time All-ACC, All-ACC Tournament and All-NCAA Tournament team member.

The CWSA presents the Honda Sports Award annually to top women student-athletes in 12 NCAA-sanctioned sports. Honda Sports award winners will be presented with the honor during on-campus presentations throughout the year and all Honda Sports award winners become a finalist for the prestigious 2014 Honda Cup award presented in June.

Last year's Honda Sports award winner for field hockey was Katie Reinprecht of Princeton University.

THE Collegiate Women Sports Awards has honored the nation’s top NCAA women athletes for 37 years, recognizing superior athletic skills, leadership, academic excellence and eagerness to participate in community service. Since commencing its sponsorship in 1986, Honda has provided more than $2.7 million in institutional grants to the universities of the award winners and nominees to support women’s athletics programs at the institutions.