Nominees Announced for 2014 Honda Soccer Sport Award

Nominees Announced for 2014 Honda Soccer Sport Award

Morgan Brian of Virginia, Abby Dahlkemper from the UCLA, Crystal Dunn of the University of North Carolina and Kassey Kallman from Florida State University are the four nominees for the Honda Sports Award for Soccer as announced by Chris Voelz, Executive Director of THE Collegiate Women Sports Awards (CWSA) today.

The Honda Sports Award is presented annually by the CWSA to the top women athletes in 12 NCAA- sanctioned sports and signifies “the best of the best in collegiate athletics”. The winner of the sport award becomes a finalist for the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year and the prestigious 2014 Honda Cup. The nominees were chosen by a panel of coaches representing the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA).

The Honda Sports award winner for soccer will be announced next week after voting by administrators from over 1,000 NCAA member schools. Each NCAA member institution has a vote.

Brian is a three-time NSCAA All-American and first-team All-ACC honoree. The junior midfielder from St. Simons Island, Ga., led the ACC in scoring this season with 46 points on 16 goals and 14 assists. Her 14 assists tied the Virginia single-season record and she was recently named a (MAC) Hermann Trophy finalist.

A native of Menlo Park, Calif., Dahlkemper is a three-time NSCAA All-American and finished her junior season helping UCLA earn its first-ever National Championship. The defender led a Bruin defense that ranked No. 1 in the nation in team GAA (0.27) and had 15 shutouts allowing just eight goals on the season. She is the first defender in 10 years to be named a finalist for the (MAC) Hermann Trophy.

Dunn was named the Honda Sports Award winner for soccer in 2012 and is a four-time NSCAA All-American. The senior from Rockville Center, N.Y., is a four-time first-team All-ACC member and was named the 2013 ACC Offensive Player of the Year. She led UNC in goals (14) and points (34), including six game-winning goals and was named a (MAC) Hermann Trophy finalist.

Kallman, a senior defender from Woodbury, Minn., was recently named an NSCAA first-team All-American and is a two-time first-team All-ACC honoree. She was named the 2013 ACC Defensive Player of the Year, ACC Tournament MVP and to the ACC All-Tournament team this season while leading a Seminoles defense that ranked nationally in goals against average (0.48).

The CWSA presents the Honda Sports Award annually to top women student-athletes in 12 NCAA-sanctioned sports. Honda Sports award winners will be presented with the honor during on-campus presentations throughout the year and all Honda Sports award winners become a finalist for the prestigious 2014 Honda Cup award presented in June.

Three Honda Sports Awards winners for soccer have gone on to win the prestigious Honda Cup, Christine Sinclair (2006), Cindy Daws (1997) and Mia Hamm (1994).

THE Collegiate Women Sports Awards has honored the nation’s top NCAA women athletes for 37 years, recognizing superior athletic skills, leadership, academic excellence and eagerness to participate in community service. Since commencing its sponsorship in 1986, Honda has provided more than $2.7 million in institutional grants to the universities of the award winners and nominees to support women’s athletics programs at the institutions.