Honda Award & Top Three Winner Kimberlyn Duncan Honored At Halftime of LSU Football Game

Honda Award & Top Three Winner Kimberlyn Duncan Honored At Halftime of LSU Football Game

(October 12, 2013) – THE CWSA's 2013 Honda Sports Award winner for track & field and Top Three Finalist, Kimberlyn Duncan (Katy, Tex.) of Louisiana State University, was formally presented with the honor live at halftime of the LSU football game on Saturday, Oct. 12, at 2:30 pm (CT), as announced by THE Collegiate Women Sports Awards presented by Honda. Duncan is a two-time Honda Award winner for track & field having won the honor back-to-back in her junior and senior seasons.

Her senior year, Duncan was a Top Three Finalist in the running to be named “the best of the best in collegiate athletics” as each of the 12 sport winners vied for the coveted Honda Cup. The Honda sport award signifies the best in any sport and the on-campus presentation gives the CWSA the opportunity to recognize Duncan's accomplishments in front of her own fans and teammates.

Duncan made history by winning the 200m title at the NCAA Championships for the third year in a row, the first athlete ever to win this event three times. Her winning time of 22.04 tied the NCAA record in the event and took her team to a fourth place finish overall. Earlier in the winter, she had won the NCAA 200m indoor title for the third straight season. After finishing just shy of making the 2012 Olympic team in the 200m, Duncan went on to win the NACAC U23 Championships and set a meet record in her signature event (22.72).

Finishing her collegiate career as a 10-time All American and six-time NCAA champion, she is the third LSU track & field athlete to earn the Honda Award since Keisha Spencer ('00) and D'Andre Hill ('96) and first to win back-to-back honors since Amy Skieresz of University of Arizona ('96-'98).

The CWSA presents the Honda Sports Award annually to top women student-athletes in 12 NCAA-sanctioned sports. The 2013-14 awards seasons open this fall with winners being selected from the sports of cross country, field hockey, soccer and volleyball. All Honda Sports award winners become a finalist for the prestigious 2014 Honda Cup award presented in June.

THE Collegiate Women Sports Awards has honored the nation’s top NCAA women athletes for 37 years, recognizing superior athletic skills, leadership, academic excellence and eagerness to participate in community service. Since commencing its sponsorship in 1986, Honda has provided more than $2.7 million in institutional grants to the universities of the award winners and nominees to support women’s athletics programs at the institutions. Previous Honda Cup winners from the sport of track & field were Angela Williams ('02), Vicki Huber ('89), Jackie Joyner ('85) and Julie Shea ('80).