Honda Award & Top Three Winner Elena Delle Donne Honored At Halftime of Delaware Women's Basketball Game

Photo by Mark Campbell
Photo by Mark Campbell

THE CWSA's 2013 Honda Sports Award winner for women's basketball and Top Three honoree, Elena Delle Donne (Wilmington, Del.) of the University of Delaware was formally presented with the honor at halftime of the Delaware women's basketball game on Friday, Nov. 15, at 8:00 pm (ET), as announced by THE Collegiate Women Sports Awards presented by Honda.

Her senior year, Delle Donne was a Top Three in the running to be named “the best of the best in collegiate athletics” as each of the 12 sport winners vied for the coveted Honda Cup which was presented live on the ESPNU broadcast in June. The Honda sport award signifies the best in any sport and the on-campus presentation gives the CWSA the opportunity to recognize Delle Donne's accomplishments in front of her own fans and teammates.

Delle Donne is a three-time Colonial Athletic Association Player of the Year and All-American and also a two-time Capital One Women’s Basketball Academic All-American of the Year and CAA Female Scholar Athlete of the Year.

At Delaware she established 45 single-game, season and career school records. She is also the CAA’s all-time leader in points, field goals, free throws made and blocked shots.

She led the Blue Hens to the NCAA Sweet 16 for the first time in school history in 2012-13 before being selected as the second overall pick by the Chicago Sky in the WNBA Draft. This past summer she was a unanimous selection as the WNBA Rookie of the Year.

The CWSA presents the Honda Sports Award annually to top women student-athletes in 12 NCAA-sanctioned sports. The 2013-14 awards seasons open this fall with winners being selected from the sports of cross country, field hockey, soccer and volleyball. All Honda Sports award winners become a finalist for the prestigious 2014 Honda Cup award presented in June.

THE Collegiate Women Sports Awards has honored the nation’s top NCAA women athletes for 37 years, recognizing superior athletic skills, leadership, academic excellence and eagerness to participate in community service. Since commencing its sponsorship in 1986, Honda has provided more than $2.7 million in institutional grants to the universities of the award winners and nominees to support women’s athletics programs at the institutions. Some notable Honda Cup winners from the sport of women's basketball were Brittney Griner ('12), Maya Moore ('10-'11), Rebecca Lobo ('95) and Dawn Staley ('91).