Honda Cup Finalists to Participate in “Huddle” at Orthopaedic Institute for Children in Los Angeles

Honda Cup Finalists to Participate in “Huddle” at Orthopaedic Institute for Children in Los Angeles

THE Collegiate Women Sports Award Presented by Honda (CWSA) announced today that the Class of 2015 will “Huddle” at the Orthopaedic Institute for Children (OIC) with current and former patients as well as local youth groups, Las Ninas, in an informal panel discussion led by Summer Sanders (Olympic Gold Medalist and past Honda Sports Award winner) on Monday, June 29th, from 9:00 am to 10:00 am PST. 

The Class of 2015 will share their experiences with the kids in sports, academics, healthy eating and their own acts of service.  Students will enjoy an autograph session with the Honorees following the Huddle where each will receive a commemorative poster of the Class of 2015.

The Huddle is one of many events surrounding the Collegiate Women Sports Award presented by Honda's announcement of the Honda Cup which airs live on CBS Sports Network on Monday, June 29, at 6 pm PT/9 pm ET, from the USC Galen Center Founders Room in Los Angeles, Calif.

The Huddle will take place on the campus of OIC in downtown Los Angeles, Calif. OIC was founded in 1911 as Los Angeles Orthopaedic Hospital. Focused solely on musculoskeletal conditions in children, OIC receives 60,000 patient visits each year. In alliance with UCLA Health and with the support of the OIC Foundation, they advance pediatric orthopaedics worldwide through outstanding patient care, medical education and research. Their locations in Downtown Los Angeles, Santa Monica, Westwood, and Calexico treat the full spectrum of pediatric orthopaedic disorders and injuries.

Student-athletes in attendance are Paula Heuser (UAlbany, field hockey), Missy Franklin (Cal, swimming & diving), Breanna Stewart (UConn, basketball), Kytra Hunter (Florida, gymnastics), Emma Talley (Alabama, golf), Lauren Haeger (Florida, softball), Jenna Prandini (Oregon, track & field), Imani McGee-Stafford (Texas, basketball, Inspiration Award), Rachel Dickinson (Millersville, field hockey, DII Athlete of the Year) and Allyson Fournier (Tufts, softball, DIII Athlete of the Year).

THE Collegiate Women Sports Awards has honored the nation’s top NCAA women student-athletes for 39 years, recognizing superior athletic skills, leadership, academic excellence and eagerness to participate in community service.  Since commencing its sponsorship in 1986, Honda has provided more than $3.0 million in institutional grants to the universities of the award winners and nominees to support women’s athletics programs at the institutions. Previous Honda Cup winners include Mia Hamm, Ann Meyers Drysdale, Lisa Fernandez, Misty May-Treanor, Maya Moore, and Candace Parker.