Honda Renews Partnership of the Collegiate Women Sports Awards and Honda Cup

THE Collegiate Women Sports Awards (CWSA) announced today the renewal of its 29-year partnership with Honda for the Honda Sports Awards Program and the prestigious 2015 Honda Cup honoring the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year.

Through the administration of the Honda Sports Awards program and the 2015 Honda Cup, the CWSA seeks to help elevate women’s collegiate sports on a national level by honoring outstanding achievement by NCAA women athletes who display not only superior athletic skills, but leadership, academic excellence and eagerness to participate in community service.

“The Collegiate Women Sports Awards program is incredibly fortunate to be able to partner with Honda in this the 29th straight year of working together in identifying and celebrating the “best of the best” of college athletics,” said Chris Voelz, Executive Director of the CWSA. “Such lengthy relationships are rare in sport sponsorships which makes CWSA that much more grateful. The Class of 2015, powered by the dreams of Honda will be honored at a two-day event in L.A. culminating with a one-hour live CBS SN national live broadcast to announce the 2015 Honda Cup recipient.”

“Honda’s commitment to women’s athletics and the Collegiate Women’s Sports Awards program is second to none within the corporate community,” stated Jean Lenti Ponsetto, CWSA Chair of the Board and Athletics Director at DePaul University. “We are thrilled once again to stand with Honda in honoring and empowering young women throughout collegiate athletics.”

Since 1986, Honda has provided more than $3.0 million in institutional grants to the universities of the award winners and nominees over the course of the program. Honda’s support of the CWSA extends to the Honda Sports Awards program that recognizes female student-athletes from Division I NCAA schools seasonally throughout the year.

In each sport, a Honda Sports Award winner is recognized and automatically becomes a finalist for the prestigious Honda Cup. At the end of the collegiate athletics season, The Top Three finalists for the Honda Cup are selected from the individual sport winners, and appear at the live televised Honda Cup announcement, to be held on June 29, 2015, in Los Angeles, Calif.

In addition, Division II and III female student-athletes of the year, as well as an annual Honda Inspiration Award winner are selected and will be presented during the live awards presentation.

“The Honda Awards recognize the best of the best in women’s collegiate athletics,” said Steve Morikawa, vice president, Corporate Community Relations, Honda.  “These student-athletes excel not only on the field, but in the classroom and in their communities, and we are proud to help shine a light on their accomplishments.”

The signature award, the Honda Cup, is presented to the woman who demonstrates superior individual athletic achievement and embodies the ideals of team contribution, scholastic endeavor and school and community involvement. The Collegiate Women Sports Awards recognize top female athletes in 12 NCAA sports including Basketball, Swimming and Diving, Cross Country, Track and Field, Field Hockey, Tennis, Golf, Soccer, Gymnastics, Volleyball, Softball and Lacrosse.

Previous Honda Cup winners include Ann Meyers-Drysdale, Jackie Joyner-Kersee, Mia Hamm, Lisa Fernandez, Misty May-Treanor, Courtney Kupets, Dawn Staley and Maya Moore.