Honda Cup Finalists to Participate in “Huddle” at Orthopaedic Institute for Children in Los Angeles

Honda Cup Finalists to Participate in “Huddle” at Orthopaedic Institute for Children in Los Angeles

THE Collegiate Women Sports Award Presented by Honda (CWSA) announced today that the Class of 2016 will “Huddle” at the Orthopaedic Institute for Children (OIC) with current and former patients as well as local youth groups, in an informal panel discussion led by Olympic Gold medalist and past Honda Sport Award winner, Summer Sanders, on Monday, June 27th, from 9:00 am to 10:00 am PST. 

The Class of 2016 will share their experiences with the kids in sports, academics, healthy eating and their own acts of service.  Students will enjoy an autograph session with the Honorees following the Huddle where each will receive a commemorative poster of the Class of 2016.

The Huddle is one of many events surrounding the Collegiate Women Sports Awards presented by Honda's announcement of the Honda Cup which airs live on CBS Sport Network on Monday, June 27, at 6 pm PT/9 pm ET, from the USC Galen Center Founders Room in Los Angeles, Calif.

The Huddle will take place on the campus of OIC in downtown Los Angeles, Calif. OIC was founded in 1911 as Los Angeles Orthopaedic Hospital. Focused solely on musculoskeletal conditions in children, OIC receives 60,000 patient visits each year. In alliance with UCLA Health and with the support of the OIC Foundation, they advance pediatric orthopaedics worldwide through outstanding patient care, medical education and research. Their locations in Downtown Los Angeles, Santa Monica, Westwood, and Calexico treat the full spectrum of pediatric orthopaedic disorders and injuries.

THE Collegiate Women Sports Awards, celebrating its 40th season, has honored the nation’s top NCAA women student-athletes for 40 years, recognizing superior athletic skills, leadership, academic excellence and eagerness to participate in community service. 

Since commencing its sponsorship in 1986, Honda has provided more than $3.0 million in institutional grants to the universities of the award winners and nominees to support women’s athletics programs at the institutions. Previous Honda Cup winners include Mia Hamm, Ann Meyers Drysdale, Lisa Fernandez, Misty May-Treanor, Maya Moore, and Candace Parker.