Honda Award Winners Haeger and Hunter Honored at Florida Football Game

Honda Award Winners Haeger and Hunter Honored at Florida Football Game

The 2015 Honda Sports Award winners for softball, Lauren Haeger, and gymnastics, Kytra Hunter, of the University of Florida were formally presented with the honor at a timeout during the Florida football team’s comeback win against Tennessee on Saturday, Sept. 26, as announced by THE Collegiate Women Sports Awards presented by Honda.

Stuart Scott, senior district manager for American Honda, presented Haeger and Hunter with their awards on the field.

Haeger was named the 2015 USA Softball National Collegiate Player of the Year and earned the win in the 2015 NCAA Championship title game. The 2015 SEC Player of the Year, she holds the SEC record for career home runs (71) and the school record for career RBIs (259). Haeger also earned Honda's Top Three award as a finalist for the Honda Cup.

Hunter led the Gators to their third straight national championship title and captured the NCAA individual title on floor exercise and tied for the 2015 NCAA all-around title. She is Florida’s all-time career leader in NCAA individual event titles with four overall.

The CWSA, celebrating its 40th year, presents the Honda Sports Award annually to top women student-athletes in 12 NCAA-sanctioned sports.  Honda Sports award winners will be presented with the honor during on-campus presentations throughout the year and all Honda Sports award winners become a finalist for the prestigious 2016 Honda Cup award presented in June.

THE Collegiate Women Sports Awards has honored the nation’s top NCAA women athletes for 39 years, recognizing superior athletic skills, leadership, academic excellence and eagerness to participate in community service.   Since commencing its sponsorship in 1986, Honda has provided more than $3.0 million in institutional grants to the universities of the award winners and nominees to support women’s athletics programs at the institutions.